Mental Health Awareness Week 2017

mhaw17-badge-tile (1)

Some people may be aware that it is currently Mental Health Awareness Week in the UK. This runs from May 8th to May 14th held by The Mental Health Foundation, the aim:

Our vision is for a world with good mental health for all. Our mission is to help people understand, protect and sustain their mental health. Prevention is at the heart of what we do, because the best way to deal with a crisis is to prevent it from happening in the first place.

As many may be aware, my blog has an aspect of mental health awareness and my own story. So this week is something I feel so strongly about, with mental health so prevalent in today’s society, it is about time that stigma around mental health is reduced and we all stand together.

 

It is estimated that in the past week, 1 in 6 people have experienced a common mental health problem, such as anxiety and depression. Whilst some may find this not surprising, for some it is. So many people talk out and ask for help, but what about those who do not have the confidence to ask for help? What about those people who feel ashamed of the way they feel? Just because mental health is an unseen problem, does not mean it isn’t real. It is very real.

I suppose the aim of this post is to remind people that:

  1. You are not alone if you feel like you are, there is always someone there to support you.
  2. If you want help and have been to scared to ask, ask now. You’ve done the hardest part by admitting you need help, it will get easier.
  3. If you know someone who struggles with mental health, just drop in with them, ask them how they are doing, if they want some company. My biggest problem was feeling alone, when all you want is someone to ask about you and care.

Be the change so many people need.

Mental health is for me is much more than my experiences, it has shaped me into who I am today. Whilst I know I have some way to go to be the person I can be, I am so proud of how far I have come. That’s why for me it is crucial we all support each other, instead of walking away or ignoring people’s cries for help. Be the change. That’s why my goal is to become a counsellor, if I can help one person in my life get through their darker times then that is better than nobody.

We have to work together in mental health, whilst we hope it will go away unnoticed, it will not. Talk to someone, ask them how they are. Survey’s suggest that collectively mental health is deteriorating. The majority of people will express at some point in their lives mental health issues.

If we stand by each other and be the support so many people need, maybe we can begin to tackle mental health once and for all.
Until next time, stay strong and support one another.
– Bobby

3 thoughts on “Mental Health Awareness Week 2017

  1. Lovely message as always dear. Thank you for sharing this aspect of your life and these truly important reminders. To some of us it’s a no brainer because we’ve been through it, we know what others likely need, but some people still need that prompt from outside sources and I think it’s wonderful that you took the time to put this out there. Thanks again for sharing, I hope all is well with you. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

