Is life one big journey?

Just a short post for me today, something I had been thinking about earlier in the day:
The infamous saying, from Ralph Waldo Emerson: “Life is a journey, not a destination,”  is a saying I try to hold true to my life. I do not fully understand this quote, but my aim in life is to discover it’s meaning, for me. Here is what I think about this saying today:

We are not meant to rush through life… life is about savoring the moments which make each day different. They can be small things, or big things, making a new meal that you enjoy, reaching a new goal for working out, finishing a new book, meeting a friend, getting married, having children. They are all moments we should hold dear. It’s about how we learn the lessons along the way, how we take these moments and apply them to our lives, how we learn, how we grow, how we adapt.

It’s all about the hardships and the challenges that we are sometimes faced with and how we work through them. Everyone at some point in their lives experiences situations that at the time, they wish they hadn’t, instead of thinking this, I have decided that I will grow to a better person because of these. Yes, they may be painful memories, yes they may bring back emotions I wish they didn’t, but they can’t stop me from living in the present. They are my past, not my future.

I think we need to hold onto the idea of living in the moment, learning about the joy and happiness that we experience. We need to learn what self-care is all about, find out about ourselves as individuals, not as a collective. It’s about uncovering who we truly are, who we truly want to be. Life is about so many things and can show us so many things, when we rush through it, try and pass bad the bad experiences, we miss the beauty it has to offer with each breath we take. We have to live through the bad to know the joy. It is a journey well worth exploring, if you are willing to hold the map.

So to answer my own question, life is one hell of a journey, it is the best journey you will ever take, you have to relish in the highs and learn from the lows. We all have a journey to take, it’s up to us to learn how to live it to the fullest.
Until next time,
– Bobby

 

 

One thought on “Is life one big journey?

Leave a Reply

