Dear Diary – What about me?

I thought I would post another one of these as today has been a weird day for me where I have done a lot of thinking…

Dear Diary,

Today is February 13th 2017. The day before Valentine’s Day. The day you will see endless Facebook status, Tweets, Snapchats, Instagrams about how much someone you know loves their partner or significant other. I get it and can understand why they want to celebrate their love, but what about those people who do not have someone significant in their lives. It’s a day that kind of reminds you that you are not with anyone, for some people this is positive as they believe in their independence, but for me, it reminds me that I don’t have that.

Valentine’s Day is a day where should let the person you love know how much you do love them, but why should this be singled into one day? What about the other 364 days of the year? If you are with someone, do something small everyday to remind them how much you care about them and how much you appreciate that they are in your life.  I see so many people who are in relationships say how their partner doesn’t care, or show they do, it’s sad. If you love someone, why wouldn’t you show it?

Anyway, I went on a massive tangent there about the whole reason I wanted to write this Bobby. I want you to remember it shouldn’t be, “why me?” it should be “who cares!” You don’t need a partner to be content in life, you have to work on yourself before you can let someone else in. You have to be comfortable with who you are and be OK with yourself, right now, it isn’t fair to bring someone into your life. So many people tell you that you need to find a man and he will make me happy, but would he? Would he make me happy, because I don’t think right now they would. I need to fully discover who I am as an individual, not as a partnership. I need to be single and be true to who I am. It is OK to be alone for another year on Valentine’s Day, you don’t need to suppress yourself, it’s not fair. You know you are happy for everyone who does have someone in their life to share this day with, but you know that that is their choice.

You may feel lonely and feel like nobody will ever want you. That is not true. You are loved by so many people, friends, family, they are the ones you should be saying I love you to. You have to appreciate what is already in front of you, all the people who are amazing, who support you, guide you, help you. Those are the people who really matter. Instead of feeling sorry for yourself for being alone on another Valentine’s Day, tell the people you care about in your life how much you truly appreciate them being there for you. You need to do this, you know you do, you take them for granted sometimes, all the people in your life who are making you whole again. Tell them.

I think what I want to tell you most Bobby is, it’s OK to be alone sometimes, it’s not a ‘what about me?’ it’s a ‘I’m OK with being me.’ Because right now you might not feel it, but one day you will be, one day you will be ready to let someone into your life, you’ll know when then time is right. Be confident, be appreciative, be supportive and most of all, be OK with yourself and the people in your life. You got this girl, you are a strong, independent lady, who right now, doesn’t need a partner to make them happy. You just need you, your friends and family.

Until next time,
– Bobby
Leave a Reply

