My 5 must have lipsticks!

Lipsticks, there is so much choice out there it’s difficult to know where to begin or what to even look for! I have tried so many different brands and experienced the dry flaky lips and the sticky lipsticks. I have found that in general, higher-end lipsticks are better quality and splashing out on them once in a while is a lovely treat for anyone interested in makeup. So here are my top 5 that I have tried and loved!!
img_1570
First is Super Nude Matte by Soap and Glory:

img_1553

This is the cheapest of the five, priced at £9.00. This is a perfect nude with pink and peach undertones, it works well on myself as I have a neutral tone to my skin and brown hair and eyes. It doesn’t drown my face out and make me look ill! It is a matte lipstick but is in no way drying on the lips, it is so easy to apply, applying smoothly and gliding on effortlessly. It however does not have the best staying power out of the five. I would say if you wanted to wear this all day it would need to be topped up around two or three times. The pay off is also very true to the colour in the lipstick container. It is a great lipstick for someone who is afraid of nudes, it’s not ‘too nude’.

Second is Rebel by MAC:

img_1577

A much hyped about lipstick shade by MAC Cosmetics. Priced at £15.50, it is on the start of the higher-end lipstick range, it is a Satin finish, so leaves a glossy texture to the lips but without the stickiness of a gloss. The shade is not as dark as in the container, it comes off as a light berry colour and after the application I would say it is more of a stain when it begins to wear off. I would recommend using a lip-liner underneath as it sometimes has a tendency to bleed out over your lip line if you apply it with a thicker layer. The staying power is great on me, and I feel it lasts well across the day with only a single touch up after eating. It is great applied lightly for everyday wear, but also for an evening. It is definitely a good shade for someone trying out berry colours for the first time.

Third is Brave by MAC:

img_1585

Another great MAC shade is Brave, a deep toned beige with a Satin finish. Again like Rebel, it isn’t too sticky on the lips and this colour is very true to the colour in the container. Priced again at £15.50, I would say for the pay-off, pigmentation and lasting power it is well worth the money. Yes, it can be expensive to buy, but it is a great investment as the lipstick will last you forever! Like most MAC lipstick though, I find applying a lip liner underneath does make the lipstick stay on longer and when it begins to fade, it will fade more evenly. Another great colour for someone who is looking for a deeper nude shade.

Fourth is Starkers by Illamasqua:

IMG_1588.JPG

For me this lipstick is the PERFECT nude shade. This Glamore Lipstick is an intense nude lipstick with an insanely long lasting satin finish, it creates such a lovely gloss on the lips with no tackiness at all. It is ideal for someone who has a tendency to get drier lips when wearing lipsticks, it does have a more hydrated comfort finish. It is more on the pricey side at £19.50 but for me is so worth the money. This lasts so long without any touch ups when using a lip liner underneath. I honestly would say, if you are looking to treat yourself, look at any of the Illamasqua Glamore Lipstick shades, they are absolutely brilliant! I can’t rave enough about this lipstick, honestly, I could go on forever about how insane it is!!

The last lipstick is Whirl by MAC:

img_1595

Another deep toned beige from MAC, but this one has more brown undertones than Brave which is significantly pinker in its undertones. Now out of all five, this is the one I get the most compliments with when I have it on. It is a matte finish and it is the shade people would say gives you that classic ‘Kylie Jenner’ look, it a deep nude/brown and looks stunning with a smokey eye or a classic winged eye. I would again as with all lipsticks suggest using a liner underneath, it just gives it an extra chance to stay on the lips. This shade however can drown out someone who is very pale in their complexion so it does look better on those with a light to medium skin tone. All in all, MAC lipsticks are brilliant for any lipstick collections.

So there you have it, my must have 5 lipsticks for anyone who wants to extend their lipstick options! Yes, most are on a higher budget, but they are brilliant for a treat when you can afford it. If you need any further convincing, here are some swatches for you:

img_1573

Working from left to right you have, Super Nude by Soap and Glory, Rebel by MAC, Brave by MAC, Starkers by Illamasqua and Whirl by MAC.
I hope this has helped anyone looking for some new lipstick, I could have easily made this 10, let me know if there is any specific you want to see from my lipstick collection!
Until next time,
– Bobby

31 thoughts on “My 5 must have lipsticks!

  1. I’m a huge “MAC” girl!!!! I have the lady Gaga and Kylie Minogue ones…. I particularly like the first lipstick you presented. I have never heard of that brand before. This was great to check out! I bought these Chanel lipsticks but they are “cheap” so not doing that again!!!! I just realised soap and glory may be a UK product! So that’s why I haven’t heard of it! I’m from Australia, but MAC is so well known, and most girls like that brand so a post on MAC is exceptional. 🙂 good stuff!!!! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh I don’t have either of those collections! I have 11 all together I think, so I could do a post dedicated solely to them? And yes it is a UK brand, drugstore and amazing for the price! Thank you so much for your kind words ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can’t WAIT to come to the UK!!!! 🇬🇧 it’s been a dream of mine the past two years!!!! I lived in Melbourne city for 20 years so I am originally a city girl…. and have now moved to Perth. Scarborough is quiet compared toMelbourne, sometimes I feel I miss the hustle and bustle, but now that I’m 30 I feel like I’m slowing down!!!!!! 😂😂😂 I have grown a fondness for the royal family too! Hehehe London is my dream destination…. I thought Melbourne was TOPS!!! 😳 can’t WAIT! Eeeeee

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Cheshire….. because my family originates from there….. I have only just recently discovered Made in Chelsea, so London and Chelsea would be flipping awesome! And I’d like to visit Manchester. I just want to road trip all over!!!! I actually was JUST watching the vicar of dibley…. so funny!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oooo okay! I’ve heard very little of Leeds…. it sounds magical anyhow! I think Melbourne is the best city in the world, but I haven’t been to NY or London, so a few months to save and here I come!!!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Brave by MAC is one of my favorite shades. I really like the one you swatched by Soap and Glory too. I have their lotion and Sexy Mother Pucker lipgloss and absolutely LOVE both. Thanks for sharing! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment